I don't ski... So what can I do in Val Thorens?

You love the mountains for their invigorating air, breathtaking snow-covered landscapes and warm, friendly atmosphere... But skiing isn't really your thing?
So much the better, because here you can enjoy the mountains even if you don't ski. Whether you're coming with your lover, your family or your good friends, there's something for everyone.
Here's a selection of activities tested and approved by a Saturday skier!

Be careful! Even if you're not on the slopes, suncream is highly recommended when you're outdoors, because at 2300m altitude, the sun is very strong and the snow inevitably reflects its rays onto your beautiful skin.

Objective no. 1: relax!

In your day-to-day life, your well-being can sometimes be neglected, and a holiday in the mountains can help you relax and relieve the stress you've accumulated over the year. Massages, hammams, saunas, jacuzzis, heated swimming pools... Are you dreaming? You too can try out the resort's various wellness and beauty areas, and we promise you'll find what you're looking for.

The little trick: Save this activity for a day when the weather is rather gloomy, and you'll appreciate being cosy and pampered all the more.

At Val Thorens, we understand that you want to take advantage of your stay to recover from the stresses of everyday life. Perched in a cirque of mountains, at an altitude of 2300m, the setting is ideal for reconnecting with yourself, rebuilding your anti-stress barriers and savouring happiness. A few years ago, the resort launched the My Val Thorens Serenity initiative, with one aim in mind: to give you the keys to an invigorating mountain holiday in complete serenity.

Relaxing at the spa with friends

Objective No. 2: A change of scenery

The mountains in winter are great for walking. Who doesn't love feeling the snow crunch under their feet while admiring the sumptuous views? Just because you don't ski doesn't mean you can't enjoy the beautiful walks around Val Thorens.

We recommend the Montagnette trail, an easy, gentle path that can be walked as a family, as a couple, or even alone with your dog. Take your time wandering around, sitting on the little bench at the end of the path and admiring the view before returning to the bustling life of the resort (allow an average of 1h30 for the round trip).

If you're going at lunchtime, don't forget to take your picnic (and the dog's food) with you and make a little snowman.

Couple walking with a dog on a footpath

The little extra : This path faces due south, so it's always in the sun, and offers a beautiful view of the Vallée des Belleville and the Val Thorens resort.
But... This little moment of happiness has to be earned, so the path is not easy to find. Don't hesitate to ask our Val Thorens experts at the Tourist Office to show you how to get there on a map from your accommodation.

Objective no. 3: have fun!

Who said ski resorts were ONLY about skiing?

While some of you are enjoying the slopes, it's your turn to numerous activities on offer in the resort! Go-karting, tobogganing, paragliding, microlighting, dog sledding, swimming, snowshoeing, mountain biking on snow, yoga or zip-lining (and the list goes on) - there's no shortage of alternatives!

And just because you don't ski doesn't mean you can't experience the thrill of gliding through the snow. Thanks to the Cosmojet toboggan run, there's a 45-minute ride waiting for you, and frankly, you're going to love it. We guarantee you'll be thrilled, laugh out loud and have a great time. Like the rest of us, you'll want to do it again.

The right plan : Try a night descent with your headlamp screwed onto your helmet, and you'll see the mountain in a whole new light...

Family fun

Objective no. 4: Relax in the sun

And what better way to recuperate from all these activities than on a sunny terrace? You can be sure that on a sunny day, you'll find all the locals in Val Tho at the table or lounging on deckchairs at lunchtime or after work. And to think you get to do that all day long! For a more festive and international atmosphere, prefer the upper part of the resort, which is the meeting place for skiers and therefore more lively after skiing. If you're looking for a calm, relaxing atmosphere, choose the centre of the resort.

Gourmet moment on the terrace

By the way, just because you don't ski doesn't mean you can't enjoy the terraces of the mountain restaurants! As a pedestrian, it's perfectly possible to take certain ski lifts, such as those that take you up to one of our favourite panoramas: the summit of the cime Caron at 3200m, with its 360° view of over 1000 Alpine peaks, and the icing on the cake, the Italian side of Mont Blanc.

Oh yes, I forgot, always remember the sun cream... 😉

Objective 5: Discover local specialities

No skiing means free time! You'll have plenty of time to wander around the shops in the Val Thorens shopping arcades and discover some typically Savoyard products! I recommend stopping off at one of the many mountain speciality shops in the resort: the experts will be able to advise you on their regional products, and explain to you with passion how the traditional Savoy tomme cheese is made, or give you professional tips on how to make a delicious homemade 100 % fondue.

Themes

Was this content helpful?

Save

Share this content

Je ne fais pas de ski… Mais qu’est-ce que je peux faire à Val Thorens alors ?

Vous adorez la montagne pour son air vivifiant, ses paysages enneigés à couper le souffle, son atmosphère conviviale et chaleureuse…Mais le ski, c’est pas tellement votre truc ?
Tant mieux, parce qu’ici, on profite aussi de la montagne même si l’on ne skie pas. Que vous veniez avec votre amoureux(se), votre petite famille ou vos bons copains, il y en a pour tous les goûts.
Voici un panel d’activités testées et approuvées par une skieuse du samedi !

Attention ! Même si vous n’êtes pas sur les pistes, la crème solaire est fortement recommandée dès lors que vous êtes en extérieur car à 2300m d’altitude, le soleil est bien présent et la neige réverbère inévitablement ses rayons sur votre belle peau.

Objectif n°1: on se détend !

Au quotidien votre bien-être est parfois négligé et les vacances à la montagne aident à se détendre et à évacuer le stress cumulé au cours de cette année de travail et de contraintes. Massages, hammam, sauna, jacuzzi, piscine chauffée…Ça vous fait rêver ? Testez vous aussi les différents espaces de bien-être et beauté de la station, on vous promet que vous trouverez votre bonheur.

La petite astuce : réservez cette activité pour un jour où le temps est plutôt maussade, vous n’apprécierez que plus d’être bien au chaud en train de vous faire chouchouter.

À Val Thorens, nous avons pris conscience de votre envie de profiter de votre séjour pour récupérer du stress de la vie quotidienne. Perché dans un cirque de montagnes, à 2300m d’altitude, le contexte est idéal pour renouer avec soi-même, reconstruire des barrières antistress et savourer le bonheur. La station s’est lancée depuis quelques années dans la démarche My Val Thorens Serenity, avec un objectif : vous donner les clefs pour vivre en toute sérénité un séjour revigorant à la montagne.

Moment détente au spa entre amis

Objectif n°2: on se dépayse

La montagne en hiver est propice aux promenades. Qui n’aime pas sentir la neige qui craque sous ses pieds tout en admirant des vues somptueuses ? Ce n’est pas parce que vous ne skiez pas que vous ne pouvez pas profiter des belles balades autour de Val Thorens.

On vous conseille le sentier de la Montagnette, un sentier facile et peu pentu qui est praticable en famille, en couple, ou même seul avec votre chien. Prenez le temps de lambiner, de vous asseoir sur le petit banc au bout du chemin et d’admirer la vue avant de retrouver la vie animée de la station (compter en moyenne 1h30 de balade, aller-retour).

Si vous y allez sur les coups de midi, n’oubliez pas d’emporter votre pique-nique (et les croquettes du chien) et profitez-en pour faire un petit bonhomme de neige.

Couple se baladant avec un chien sur un sentier

Le petit plus : ce sentier est exposé plein sud, soit toujours au soleil et vous offre une très belle vue sur la Vallée des Belleville et la station de Val Thorens.
Mais… Ce petit moment de bonheur se mérite, le sentier n’est donc pas facile à trouver. N’hésitez pas à passer voir nos expertes de Val Thorens à l’Office de Tourisme pour qu’elles vous indiquent l’accès sur une carte depuis votre logement.

Objectif n°3 : on s’amuse !

Qui a dit qu’en station de ski, on ne faisait QUE du ski ?

Pendant que les uns profitent des pistes, à vous les nombreuses activités proposées dans la station ! Karting, luge, parapente, ULM, chiens de traineau, piscine, balade en raquettes, VTT sur neige, yoga ou tyrolienne (et j’en passe) les alternatives ne manquent pas !

Et ce n’est pas parce qu’on ne skie pas, qu’on ne peut pas ressentir les sensations d’une bonne glisse sur la neige. Grâce à la piste de luge Cosmojet, 45 minutes de descente en luge vous attendent, et franchement, vous allez adorer. On vous garantit des émotions fortes, des rires aux éclats, et un moment sympa à partager. Comme nous tous, vous aurez envie de la refaire.

Le bon plan : essayez la descente de nuit, lampe frontale vissée sur votre casque,  vous verrez la montagne autrement…

Moment convivial en famille

Objectif n°4: On farniente au soleil

Enfin, quoi de mieux pour récupérer de toutes ces activités qu’une bonne terrasse au soleil ? Soyez sûrs qu’un jour de beau temps, vous retrouverez tous les locaux de Val Tho à table ou bien allongés sur des transats à la pause de midi ou après le travail. Et dire que vous, vous avez la chance de faire ça toute la journée ! Pour une ambiance plus festive et internationale, préférez le haut de la station qui est le rendez-vous des skieurs et donc plus animé en après-ski. Si vous cherchez plutôt une ambiance calme et propice à la détente, choisissez le centre de la station.

Moment gourmand en terrasse

Au fait, ce n’est pas parce que vous ne skiez pas que vous ne pouvez pas profiter des terrasses des restaurants d’altitude ! En tant que piéton, il est tout à fait possible d’emprunter certaines remontées mécaniques comme celles qui permettent d’atteindre l’un de nos panoramas favoris : le sommet de la cime Caron à 3200m d’altitude avec sa vue à 360° sur plus de 1000 sommets alpins, et la cerise sur le gâteau, sur le versant italien du Mont Blanc.

Ah oui j’oubliais, pensez encore et toujours à la crème solaire… 😉

Objectif n°5 : On découvre les spécialités locales

Qui dit pas de ski, dit temps libre ! Vous aurez tout le loisir de déambuler dans les boutiques des galeries commerciales de Val Thorens pour faire du shopping, mais aussi découvrir les produits typiquement savoyards ! Je vous conseille de vous arrêter dans l’une des nombreuses boutiques de spécialités montagnardes de la station : les experts sauront vous conseiller sur leurs produits régionaux, et vous expliqueront avec passion la fabrication de la traditionnelle tomme de Savoie, ou vous donneront des astuces de pro pour réaliser une délicieuse fondue 100 % maison.

Thématiques

Ce contenu vous a été utile ?

Enregistrer

Partager ce contenu